zfs is pretty good

Mon 09 July 2018


moving

Thu 28 June 2018


GDPR thingy

Thu 24 May 2018


lies, revisited

Thu 17 May 2018

In ‘Lies, Damned Lies and Benchmarks’ (2014) I wrote about varying measures of CPU power versus perception of speed, and concluded that there were no order-of-magnitude differences in affordable CPUs. Three and a half years later, there ought to be some change in the market. What’s the best bang-for-the-buck these days?

I characterized an AMD Athlon 5150 as the low end: x86-64, 4 cores, 2GHz, and for a cost of $50 or so, a single-thread performance index of 804. For the top of the reasonable range, I selected the i3-4470, 2 cores producing a benchmark of 2240 each for …


taking names

Tue 15 May 2018


the game of competing hypotheses

Sun 29 April 2018


on the spontaneous use of statistics

Sat 14 April 2018


engineering management advice

Sat 07 April 2018


zfs internal error

Wed 28 March 2018


quote of the day n+1th

Wed 14 March 2018


the cost of GPL is not in dollars

Wed 28 February 2018


revisiting Google Fi

Wed 21 February 2018

This is the end of my second year as a Google Fi subscriber.

TL;DR: I’m keeping this service and I recommend it for people who are happy with the limited phone selection.

About a year ago, I wrote about Fi. This is the update.

Average price per month, exclusive of the phone: $30.24. This includes unlimited voice calls and texts, and data paid for at the rate of $10 per GB, accounted for at the megabyte level - one cent per megabyte.

I have not paid for a new phone in that time, but when I complained about …


time is not money

Tue 16 January 2018


books at year end

Wed 27 December 2017


a most important job

Thu 21 December 2017

© -dsr-. Send feedback or comments via email — by continuing to use this site you agree to certain terms and conditions.

Built using Pelican. Derived from the svbhack theme by Giulio Fidente on github.