Tag: technology | Atom Feed

things break when you try to fix them

Mon 27 May 2024


new mouse report

Mon 11 March 2024


belts and suspenders at home

Mon 04 March 2024


pareidolia but for meaningfulness

Sat 18 November 2023


sacrificial jacks

Wed 28 June 2023


memorializing a prediction

Sun 11 June 2023


how did dial-up ISPs work?

Fri 09 June 2023


koreader is not perfect, but it is very good

Thu 08 June 2023

koreader is an open source ebook reader application originally designed to replace the firmware on Kobo E-Ink reading tablets, and then ported to run on Amazon Kindle, Android, PocketBook, and Remarkable devices. Under Android it runs as a normal application. It also runs as an application in Linux and (reportedly) in MacOS. It reads basically all non-DRM book formats. It is highly configurable and featureful, though not infinitely so.

If you have an OPDS-speaking book server, it can search and download from that. If you want to run a tiny sync server for keeping track of which page you are on across multiple koreaders, that’s pretty easy.

If it ran smoothly on MacOS and I could get it to work on my semi-antiquated Chromebook, it would be even closer to perfect. Sadly, it doesn’t – yet.

-30-


considerations for ebook reader interfaces

Tue 06 June 2023


models of language vs models of reality

Mon 20 March 2023


quote of note - history of WWW tools

Tue 07 March 2023


fingerprints

Mon 06 March 2023


an opinionated tmux config

Fri 03 March 2023


minimalism is an affectation of the wealthy

Thu 23 February 2023


lessons from usenet

Wed 25 January 2023

© -dsr-. Send feedback or comments via email — by continuing to use this site you agree to certain terms and conditions.

Built using Pelican. Derived from the svbhack theme by Giulio Fidente on github.